In the New Year (Hello 2011!)

There isn’t anything better than the promise of a new year. I know I’ve been missing a bit from this little blog of mine. With the freshness of 2011, I’ve thought a bit about how I want this coming year to go. My plan for 2011 is to be small. I know that sounds kind of weird. It’s true though. As I think about my goals for 2011 and my expectations for myself, it makes sense for me to run this children and family photography business as teeny-tiny. It’s what makes me happiest and enables me to put my best self out there, from my clients to my family.
Great, Jessica, we’re happy for you, but what does that mean? Not a whole lot, really, but a couple of changes.

Up first, this blog. I know there are a million reasons I should continue to keep posting here, but quite honestly, maintaining this blog takes more time than I am willing to spend. Don’t worry, I’ll still have sneak peeks and any big announcements on my Facebook page. In fact, for better or worse, Facebook will be replacing my blog. You can view my latest work, specials and any other little tidbits of information. From a client perspective, the only difference is you will be driven to Facebook for your teaser, rather than the option of the blog or Facebook.
Second, I will be limiting the number of sessions I take each month. If you check out my rates page on my website, you will see two new session types: the mini session and the family session. The mini session is a short session that focuses on one child. It is perfect for milestones or when you maybe realize one child maybe isn’t quite as photographed as the rest. These sessions are very limited and available once a month. The family session is my regular session we’ve had over the years – no changes there. I’m still available for extended family, engagements and small events. Please email me for more information.
I think that is a nice start to changes for 2011. And to prove my point, here is a share from one of my last sessions of the year that I had on my ‘to blog’ list. They may be my most photographed family – I’ve captured many events for them and I’m happy to close out my blog with their pictures.
Wishing you and yours much happiness this year!


This entry was posted in san francisco bay area lifestyle photographer, san ramon family and child photographer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment