My Sister | Los Angeles Area Portrait Photographer

This is my younger sister. (Isn’t she beautiful? I have always been jealous of her curly hair.)

She isn’t to be confused with my older sister, or youngest sister (yes, there are four girls in all). This younger sister of mine, well, she’s a complicated one. Where I like to follow directions and meet expectations – you know, follow a known path. She jumps around, stops in the middle, goes backwards and then disappears altogether. And yet, we always manage to meet back up on that path again.
Last February, I woke up to a text from her that said “We just got married!” Like I said, she follows her own path. To be honest, it wasn’t a complete surprise. The two lovebirds had been together for over 7 years and were engaged. They’re a perfect fit, in my opinion. Just as he grounds her, she helps him to cut loose a little. Most importantly, I know that she is happiest with him in her life.
Recently, she asked if I would take pictures of them back at the bridge where he proposed. It’s a gorgeous old bridge in Pasadena. From a photographer’s perspective, it was tough. Cars constantly screamed by, the bridge itself was narrow and long. And also, there’s this little nugget: I’m a people photographer. I love buildings and bridges (after all, my intended career path was in architecture and design). But there is a reason I’m not a landscape photographer. Try as I might, I can’t ever capture the outdoors as beautifully as I feel when I’m standing in it. And the more beautiful and amazing a place is, the more I choke on capturing the whole of it. So, I did what I do best, I captured my sister and her husband. The bridge is there, they know it’s there, you can see bits and pieces of it. But, they are the focus, not the bridge. And I think that’s how it should be.


Final note, this last shot I love. It’s more of an outtake than a portrait, but I tend to love life’s outtakes anyway. Congratulations, you two!
This entry was posted in los angeles area portrait photographer, los angeles engagement photographer, pasadena engagement photographer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Sister | Los Angeles Area Portrait Photographer

  1. Gorgeous! love the one where she is looking off. And your story is super cute, too. 🙂 Congrats to your sister!

  2. These are beautiful! Congrats to the happy couple:)

Leave a comment